Peace

Hello from The Czech Republic!  For the next week I am at the Spring School for the Czech pastors of The United Methodist Church.  I have been asked to teach a class on pastoral leadership, and I am very honored.  I’ve asked my good friend, Alicia Holbrook, to fill in for me here on the blog for a couple of days.  I must admit, I was glad to have been able to read her post for today before I left, as I was worried about many things.  Thank you, Alicia!

“May God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ give you grace and peace”. –  Philemon 1:3

By definition, peace means a state of tranquility or quiet or freedom from disquieting or oppressive thoughts or emotions. But what does it really mean for a Christian? I’ve recently been focusing my heart and mind on peace that comes from a personal relationship with Christ. I’ve been studying some beautiful scriptures from my Lenten devotion that have had a deep impact in my daily life.

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Colossians 3:15

That Sunday evening the disciples were meeting behind locked doors because they were afraid of the Jewish leaders. Suddenly, Jesus was standing there among them! “Peace be with you,” he said . – John 20:19

Obviously, God desires for us to have peace in our hearts. But why is it so difficult? So often, our lives get in the way.  We worry about jobs, finances, relationships, health, and much more. Yet God makes it so clear that we are to let Chris rule our heart. He wants to us to leave in peace every day. It doesn’t mean that our lives will be perfect, but we can have peace in trying times.  We can be free from these chaotic and worrisome thoughts and emotions through Christ.

Why won’t we just let God give us that peace that passes all understanding? What God has really been revealing to me lately, is that if I seek peace by reading His word and praying specifically for that peace, He will give it to me tenfold. The strange thing is that as long as I’ve been a believer, I’ve known this, but I’ve never really truly sought it. I recently decided that I was tired of worrying because in my nearly 35 years of life, it hasn’t really gotten me anywhere. So for the first time in my life, I’ve been actively seeking peace. Ask God to reveal your worries so that you can lay them down and leave them with Him. Let me just tell you, God is so good. I want everyone to feel the peace and joy that comes from allowing God to take your worries and anxiety.  Take refuge in the Lord! He will never leave you and He will guide us with His counsel.

Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him. Psalm 34:8

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Peace

  1. Stacey says:

    Thank you! I need reminding of this lately!

Leave a comment